Päijät-Häme rescue services is one of the 22 regional rescue departments in Finland. On average our help is required approximately 73 times a day.

Our vision is to be the most influential and important authority on safety, while also providing emergency medical care services.

All of our actions are governed by the core values of justice, reliability, professionalism, humanity and cooperation.




Prevention, Standby, Rescue, and Emergency medical care.

Päijät-Häme rescue services mainly deals with the following incidents and tasks:

  • Traffic and other road accidents
  • Motor vehicle, building and industrial fires
  • Emergency medical service
  • Damage prevention
  • Water rescue

Päijät-Häme rescue service's objectives are to promote a safety culture and through that reduce the risk of an accident occurring. One of the methods that we use to achieve our objectives is to develop the public’s own awareness surrounding safety so that they are able to take effective actions if necessary. We also teach individuals to become more responsible for their own safety.

The rescue services is a business run organisation, which operates underneath the Päijät-Häme union. The department is governed by a board of locally elected representatives.

Within the region of Päijät-Häme there are five permanent, 24 hour occupied fire stations. They are located in Heinola, Hollola, Lahti, Orimattila and Nastola.

The rescue services liaises with the agreement fire brigades within the region including both permanent and part-time brigades, as well as the lake rescue associations contained within the region’s municipalities and cities.

  1. Hartola
  2. Sysmä
  3. Padasjoki
  4. Heinola
  5. Asikkala
  6. Nastola
  7. Lahti, Niemi
  8. Lahti, Paavola
  9. Hollola
  10. Hämeenkoski
  11. Kärkölä
  12. Orimattila
  13. Artjärvi
powered by eMedia